GAHS names 8 to 11th athletic HOF class

Post Reply
Posts: 7464
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 5:26 pm

GAHS names 8 to 11th athletic HOF class

Post by jottings » Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:38 am

Seven former GAHS athletes, Coach Jim Osborne
are nominated for school’s 11th athletic HOF class

Seven former Gallia Academy High School athletes and long-time Coach Jim Osborne were nominated for the school’s 11th athletic hall of fame class during the HOF committee meeting in the GAHS cafeteria on Thursday, Aug. 9.

Nominated were:

Coach Osborne, who completed 41 years at the school in 2010;
Brenda Wilson, 1975, basketball and volleyball; Dan Beabout, 1954, track, football; Jamie Lane, 1983, basketball; Tom Meadows, 1968, football, baseball and booster; the late Russ Smith, 1955, baseball, football and basketball; Todd Slone, 1986, football, baseball and basketball and Kirk Jackson, 1987, football.

The nominees will be introduced prior to the Chillicothe-Gallipolis home football game on Friday, Sept. 28 and be inducted on Saturday, Sept. 29 in the GAHS cafeteria following a banquet catered by the Park Front Café. Honorees will be guests of honor.

The committee is seeking to add new members to the group to replace terms that expired recently.

Nineteen attended Thursday’s nomination session—Tom Meadows, president; Tom Young, vice president; Randy Finney, secretary; Lora Young, treasurer; Rusty Saunders, immediate past president; Tim Massie, principal; and other committee members Brent Simms, athletic director; Jan Edelmann, boosters club president; committee members John Milhoan, Hobart Wilson, Jr., Jim Osborne, Jimmy Noe, Renee Barnes, Sara Evans-Moore, Karen Sprague, Brent Saunders, Keith McGuire, Jack Payton, and Tom Morgan.

Post Reply

Return to “Tennis”