Quitting A Sport

theassassin
All State

Quitting A Sport

Post by theassassin »

let's hear your opinions here.
Should a kid be allowed to quit one sport (during season) and start preparing for another sport? ex: quitting football to prepare for basketball.

Should a kid be allowed to quit one sport and join another sport during the same season? ex: quitting basketball and joining wrestling.

tigerdad
JV Team

Re: Quitting A Sport

Post by tigerdad »

I guess if I was a coach it wouldn't show much character for the kid, I would definitely look into spending alot of time preparing the kid for the sport he or she was involved in, But as a parent I always instucted mine that if they started a sport they was going to end it, Whether they wanted to play the next year was totally up to them. But to never be a quitter.

But I guess your question would be directed to a athletic director, and if I was him I would not allow it

Tigercannon71
SEOPS Hippo

Post by Tigercannon71 »

I am against quiting. My parents basically told me the same thing you said tigerdad. If you start a season you finish it.

But I am going to play Devils advocate here. Now if say the kid is playing football and he doesnt start and doesnt play a lot, but he is the star basketball player I dont think the coaches would mind if he left football season early to start basketball.
As for the other scenario I think it depends on the cricumstances on why he quit to go to the other sport.

Like I said I dont condone quiting.

zebra77
Varsity

Post by zebra77 »

Quitting a sport, is like quitting a job . It could start a trend of jumping from job to job, in the rest of your life. Not a very good resume to carry with you.
If I were an employer, this would be something to consider when looking for employees.

wemufans
All Conference

Post by wemufans »