2023 Player Spotlight/Interview with TayShaun Linton Trigg County (Ky)

LICKING COUNTY FAN
SEOPS Hippo

2023 Player Spotlight/Interview with TayShaun Linton Trigg County (Ky)

Post by LICKING COUNTY FAN »

Name: TayShaun Linton

Class of: 2024

School:
Trigg County

Positions played:
Defensive End

How long have you played football, and what keeps you playing?
I’ve been playing football since I was 5 years old. The thing that keeps me playing is for Mrs. Toni Johnson that gave me the opportunity for tackle football when I was 5. In addition to my coaches and family

Which side of the ball do you prefer to play on? Why?
Defensive side of the ball because I love sacking the opposing quarterbacks and making huge tackles for a loss. Always loved playing defense since the beginning.

Trigg County ended the 2022 season 7-4 overall, including a three-game losing streak to end the season. How important is it to get a win to kick off the 2023 season?
It’s really important to get a win because we have to show that just because we lost some guys that were still that same team that will come and put on a show

Which win will you most remember from the 2022 season, along with the loss that hurt the most?
The win I will most remember this season was the huge win over Murray. We ended a 14-year losing streak. The loss that hurt the most was in our playoff loss against Hart County.

Who was the best player you faced last season, along with the team he played for, and what made him so tough?
Kris Hughes. He played for Union County. What made him very tough to play against was his ability to break off tackles in space and his speed.

How important is spring ball as far as preparing the team for the upcoming season?
It’s a really important thing because you get to see what you have as you’re rebuilding the team. We lost a lot of great players to this graduating class. So it gives an opportunity for the younger guys to start fitting into these important roles